Brastorne

Connecting the unconnected by providing internet based apps on USSD for the underserved communities in Africa

Programmes

  • Women Start

Saisons

  • Season 1

 

Connecting the Unconnected ! Brastorne has developed a platform that gives users access to online applications through USSD technology, enabling simple phones to function as low-cost smartphones. No need for a data connection, client software or SMS subscription; anyone can access advanced apps such as email, chat, Wikipedia, news and marketplaces from anywhere and at any time.

Moreover, because agriculture is an essential source in income for underserved communities and offers great opportunity for social impact, this platform offers a specific mAgri functionality for accessing agricultural information (agricultural advisory, animal welfare database, training opportunities, alerts, commodity prices and weather warnings), markets and short-term financing. It also enables users to sell products and services throughout the country as well as update their profile and run their businesses on this mobile platform.

Brastorne’s USSD platform has created the perfect harmonization between social good and profitability. The platform has performed well in Botswana generating over 500,000 users who have tried the service and is currently in the process of internalization into additional African markets.

Types of support

Brastorne took part in Women Start season led by Orange Fab France in 2018.

Brastorne

Connecter les personnes non connectées en fournissant des applications Internet basées sur USSD pour les communautés mal desservies en Afrique

Programmes

  • Women Start

Saisons

  • Saison 1

Connexion des personnes non connectées ! Brastorne a développé une plate-forme qui permet aux utilisateurs d’accéder à des applications en ligne grâce à la technologie USSD, permettant aux téléphones simples de fonctionner comme des smartphones bon marché. Nul besoin d’une connexion de données, d’un logiciel client ou d’un abonnement SMS ; n’importe qui peut accéder à des applications avancées telles que le courrier électronique, le chat, Wikipedia, les nouvelles et les marchés de n’importe où et à tout moment.

De plus, parce que l’agriculture est une source essentielle de revenus pour les communautés mal desservies et qu’elle offre une grande opportunité d’impact social, cette plateforme offre une fonctionnalité spécifique mAgri pour accéder aux informations agricoles (conseil agricole, base de données sur le bien-être animal, opportunités de formation, alertes, prix des matières premières et alertes météorologiques), aux marchés et au financement à court terme. Il permet également aux utilisateurs de vendre des produits et services dans tout le pays, de mettre à jour leur profil et de gérer leurs activités sur cette plate-forme mobile.

La plateforme USSD de Brastorne a créé la parfaite harmonisation entre le bien social et la rentabilité. La plate-forme a bien fonctionné au Botswana, générant plus de 500 000 utilisateurs qui ont essayé le service et est actuellement en cours d’internalisation dans d’autres marchés africains.

Types d’accompagnement

Brastorne a intégré le programme Women Start d’Orange Fab France en 2018.